You are here

teacher of the year

Two District 191 teachers nominated for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Two teachers from Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 were among the list of teachers nominated for 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. 

Qorsho Hassan, 5th grade teacher at Gideon Pond Elementary School, and Roberta (Bobbie) Kunkel, 1st grade teacher at Sioux Trail Elementary School, are two of the 134 candidates for the award statewide, who were announced on Jan. 24.

In February, Qorsho was named a semifinalist. She is one of only 36 candidates left in the running for the recognition. 

District 191 Building Teachers of the Year to be honored May 20

Community members, students and staff are invited to join the Burnsville Education Association (BEA) and Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 in honoring this year’s Building Teachers of the Year at a reception on Wednesday, May 20.

The reception will begin at 4 p.m. in the Senior Campus Commons of Diamondhead Education Center, 200 W. Burnsville Pkwy., with a program at 4:30 p.m. The BEA will also announce the 2015 District 191 Teacher of the Year at the event.

BHS teacher is candidate for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Burnsville High School teacher Mark Riggs is among 123 candidates to be the 2015 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Riggs was selected last spring as the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Teacher of the Year. He is a graduate of Burnsville High School who now teaches physical education and health at the school, advises the Student Council and coaches multiple sports.