You are here

school board

Application period is Oct. 23-Nov. 6 for School Board vacancy

Applications are now being accepted to temporarily fill the District 191 School Board seat left vacant following the resignation of Jen Holweger on Oct. 8. 

Residents who are interested in serving on the Board have until 1 p.m. on Nov. 6 to submit their applications. Application forms are available online at or at Diamondhead Education Center, 200 W. Burnsville Pkwy.

District 191 Board elects officers for 2020

Members of the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Board of Education unanimously elected officers to one-year terms as part of their annual organizational meeting on Jan. 9.

Board member Abigail Alt was elected to be chairperson, while Eric Miller was elected vice chairperson. DeeDee Currier was elected clerk, and Scott Hume was elected treasurer.

Board members kept their pay at $450 per month. The chairperson will receive an additional $50 per month in recognition of additional duties and responsibilities.

Superintendent Amoroso will retire after 2018-19 school year

At the Oct. 11 Board of Education meeting, Superintendent Cindy Amoroso announced her intent to retire on June 30, 2019, at the end of the 2018-19 school year.

Amoroso was hired as assistant superintendent for Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 in 2013 and named interim superintendent in 2017. She has spent more than 25 years as an educator, including elementary and secondary teaching, curriculum development, instructional leadership, and both school- and district-level leadership.

Burnsville Chamber to host District 191 School Board candidate forum

Candidates for the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Board of Education have been invited to participate in a forum at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 24, in the Burnsville Room, upper level, Diamondhead Education Center, 200 W. Burnsville Parkway.

At the forum, candidates will introduce themselves and answer questions from the audience.

The five candidates for four four-year terms on the Board of Education are Abigail Alt, Lesley Chester, Jen Holweger, Scott Hume and Jim Schmid. All five will be on the ballot Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 6.

District 191 Board of Education welcomes new student representative

Sundus Farah, who will be a senior at Burnsville High School, will be the new student representative to the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Board of Education for the 2018-19 school year.

The school district was one of the first in Minnesota to have a student serve on the Board of Education as a non-voting member, representing the interests of students.

The student representative is seated with board members at meetings. Every month, the student representative gives a report on events and activities at the high school.