You are here

In this section

BHS Theatre Guild presents 'Once Upon a Mattress,' opens Nov. 7

If you thought you knew the story of 'The Princess and The Pea,' you may be in for a walloping surprise!

Did you know, for instance, that Princess Winnifred actually swam the moat to reach Prince Dauntless the Drab? Or that Lady Larken's love for Sir Harry provided a rather compelling reason that she reach the bridal altar post haste? Or that, in fact, it wasn't the pea at all that caused the princess a sleepless night?

Carried on a wave of wonderful songs, by turns hilarious and raucous, romantic and melodic, "Once Upon a Mattress" is a rollicking spin on the familiar classic of royal courtship and comeuppance, accompanied by some side-splitting shenanigans. Chances are you'll never look at fairy tales quite the same way again.

Directed by Amy Stead, "Once Upon a Mattress" performances run Nov. 7-9 and 14-16 at 7 p.m. and Nov. 9 and Nov. 16 at 2 p.m.  

Tickets are $12 for adults, $11 for senior citizens and $10 for students. They can be purchased online at

The cast of "Once Upon a Mattress" includes the following students (in order of appearance):

Minstrel: Yekuno Yilma

Wizard: Calvin Hume

Lady Larkin:  Kat Berge

Queen Aggravain: Casey Hennessy

Prince Dauntless: Michael Goettl

King Sextimus the Silent: Davin Blix

Jester: Payton Bunnell

Sir Studley: Michael Fischer

Sir Luce: Bryce Soberski

Ist Knight: Ryan Mokandu

2nd Knight: Campbell White

3rd Knight: Eric Kesseh

1st Lady in Waiting (Rowena): Zoe Lewis

2nd Lady in Waiting (Merrill): Maisy Scheuneman

3rd Lady in Waiting (Lucille): Emma Wavrunek

Sir Harry:  Ian Duncan

Kitchen Wench: Ciara Nyberg

Princess Winnifred: Sophie Herzog

Emily: Maddie Moher

Lady Mabelle: Kyliah Jimoh

Nightingale: Kali Lorsensen

Ladies in Waiting:  Satta Kanu, Evelyn Taylor, Lucy Erbes, Sylvia Croatt

Ensemble: Shane Andersen, KateMarie Andrews, Levi Berkness, Soren Blix, Bianca Froebe, Ryan Hanneken, Elianna Johnson, Jacob Johnson, Sicilia Johnson, Norah Joseph, Reilly Klug, Uzu Lackey, Paige Leagjeld, Eliza Lorensen, Hayden Mathews, Robbie Morrison, Maddie Murray, Hayley Robinson, Genesis Rosales, Korren Schrade, Norah Selby and Bryce Soberski.


Posted: Tuesday, October 22, 2019 - 08:30