You are here

In this section

Seniors awarded more than $100,000 in community scholarships

Thanks to generous individuals, companies and organizations, Foundation 191 presented more than $106,000 in scholarships to District 191 seniors at this year’s Community Scholarship Awards Ceremony on May 22 at the Burnsville High School Mraz Center.

“Our organization is honored to host this event, made possible by ISD 191 employees, local youth organizations, charitable foundations, service groups, businesses, and families memorializing loved ones. This is truly a community effort,” said Robbie Bunnell, Foundation 191 president. “It is with great pleasure that we recognize these outstanding seniors as they move on to the next step in their educational careers.”

Scholarship donors and recipients are:  

  • American Legion Post 643 (Savage) to Arianna Day, Madisyn Gowans, Lucas Lesser and Heidi Stewart;
  • Apple Autos to Aradhana Menon;
  • BA 191 Ken Slipka Baseball Scholarship to Jordan Discher;
  • BHS Student Council to Grace Campbell and Mia Katzmarek;
  • BHS Tennis Scholarship to Samuel Bardwell, Katherine Herzog and Madeline Samz;
  • Burnsville Association of Educational Assistants to Lindsey Larson;
  • Burnsville Athletic Club Scholarship to Cade Marsolek, Nicole Matter, Amanda Roepke and Madeline Samz;
  • Burnsville Breakfast Rotary to Najma Abdi, Siham Hassan and Nawal Maxamed;
  • Burnsville Lions Club to Samuel Bardwell, Jon Butler, Riley Gill, Madisyn Gowans, Joshua Holtzleiter, Sundus Hussein, Bryana Maddox-Sanders, Barbara Sabino Pina, Mahlet Sinkie and Brandon Torralba;
  • Burnsville Noon Rotary to Lucas Lesser;
  • Burnsville Principals’ Association to Destiny Somsanouk;
  • Class Acts to Megan Bormann, Jenna Hartung, Ibtisaam Mahamed, Tristessa Mausolf, Isaac Nelson, Lisa Nguyen, Patrick Otto, Isaac Peterson, Taylor Robinson and Luna Yemane;
  • Dakota Electric Association Scholarship to Megan Bormann, Grace Campbell, Adam Haag, Hanna Holmstrom, Hayden Johnson, Bryan Casas Mendez, Leita Nguyen, Heidi Stewart, William Trussell and  Jacob Widen;
  • Devin Delaney #DWSL Scholarship to Nicholas Faith;
  • District 191 Employee Scholarship to Delaney Gigstad, Abby Harrold, Ibtisaam Mahamed, Emma Martin, Ellen Olson;
  • Fairview Ridges Scholarship to Emma Brown;
  • Firefly Credit Union Blood Drive Scholarship to Tatum Frey;
  • Foundation 191 Memorial Scholarship to Jonnathan Alvarado;
  • Hanson Scholarship Fund to Taylor Harris, Caleb Hubbard, Mikayla Hughes, Andrew Moe, Samuel Scheuneman and Crystal Yiu;
  • Kenneth J. Slipka Memorial Leadership Scholarship to Cade Marsolek;
  • Kopp Family Foundation to Manisha Mucherla, Jessica Nguyen and Olivia Rippentrop;
  • Lifetouch Presidential Scholarship to Mark Huttman, Grace McGovern and Ethan Tinklenberg;
  • Lon Hitch Secondary Education Memorial Scholarship to Alex Johnson;
  • Lon Hitch Community Involvement Memorial Scholarship to Catie Wright;
  • Mary Lenhardt Memorial Scholarship to Emma Harrold, Aradhana Menon and Liam Thomas;
  • Metcalf PTO Scholarship to Wesley Luu Ho;
  • National Honor Society Scholarship to Anna Cruz, Tatum Frey, Hanna Holmstrom, Joshua Hotzleiter, Sundus Hussein, Destiny Somsanouk and William Trussell;
  • PEO Chapters DP/El Women’s Scholarship to Sarah Kuplic;
  • PEO S.T.A.R. Scholarship to Anna Cruz;
  • Renae Gustafson Memorial Scholarship to Sarah Johnson and Caitlyn Kloeckl;
  • Robert Naffziger Memorial Scholarship to Jennifer Le Vvintre;
  • Savage Rotary Club “Service Above Self” Scholarship to Claire McDavid;
  • Taylor Zeibol Memorial Scholarship to Najma Abdi;
  • Walser Foundation “Driving a Stronger Community” to Leita Nguyen.
Posted: Friday, May 24, 2019 - 14:34