You are here

District 191 superintendent honored by state organization

Cindy AmorosoBunsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Superintendent Cindy Amoroso has been named the 2019 Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award winner by the Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA).

This annual award honors one female member of MASA for excellence in educational leadership. It recognizes Amoroso’s distinguished and more-than-30 year educational career, during which she has served at all instructional levels, including as an educational assistant, teacher, school administrator and in multiple district-level roles. 

Amoroso’s accomplishments during her career include founding a community non-profit to support early learning, founding a statewide professional development organization for curriculum and instruction leaders, redesigning a school-university partnership for mentoring new teachers, and much more. She’s served in leadership roles for professional organizations and civic organizations, including chambers of commerce and the United Way.

In supporting her nomination for the award, former and current colleagues cited her willingness to take on difficult work for the benefit of students and educators, her commitment to equity, support for leadership development, and her faithfulness to the vision and mission of her district.

“Cindy is constantly making connections between our decisions, budget, and their impact on student learning, instruction, and our school community with knowledge and tact,” said District 191 School Board Chair Abigail Alt. “Cindy asks the tough questions and demands forthright answers, especially when these conversations challenge our status quo. She sets a strong tone and expectation that we are all in this together for all students.”

The award will be presented at the MASA Spring Conference on Friday, March 8.

Posted: Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 14:15