You are here

Burnsville High School students achieve AP recognition

A total of 102 students have achieved recognition based on their scores on rigorous Advanced Placement (AP) exams they took last spring after completing college-level courses at Burnsville High School. That’s more than last year when 82 students earned recognition.

The nationally-recognized AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams. These are academic distinctions that students may cite among their credentials on applications, resumes and so on.

"We are impressed and proud of the success that our students have achieved on AP exams," said Principal Dave Helke. "These students have demonstrated they are prepared to thrive at colleges and universities.”

Helke said 456 students took AP exams, and 33 percent of them were students of color. Some of the students took the tests as seniors and have since graduated while others took the tests as sophomores and juniors and are still attending Burnsville High School. Students who earn a 3 or more on the exams (out of a possible 5) may be eligible for credits, advanced placement, or both, at the colleges and universities they will attend.

Two of the students achieved the highest honor being named as National AP Scholars for receiving an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of the exams. They were recent graduates Albert Liu and Gregory Johnson.

Twenty students were named AP Scholars of Distinction for earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. They are Joseph Andel, Erin Bachmeier, Marissa Baker, Lauren Borchart, Emma Brown, Matthew Fischer, Alexander Gorton, Alexander Gude, Luke Haddorff, Hanna Holmstrom, Justin Jasperse, Gregory Johnson, Megan Kortenhof, Albert Liu, Kirstyn Loyva, Katie Lyon, Leita Nguyen, Christopher Slemp, Katie Spaude and Anna Warmke.

Twenty-three students were named AP Scholars with Honor for receiving scores of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. They are Ryan Beattie, Sophia Bishop, Ross Boekhoff, Peyton Brewster, Joseph Brunner, Grace Campbell, Matthew Dickhausen, Sundus Farah, Tatum Frey, Christopher Gargano, Blake Hanegraaf, Siham Hassan, Marguerite Hennessy, Rachel Kelly, Elizabeth Mccormick, Aradhana Menon, Bailey Pekar, Joseph Schatz, Samantha Simonsen, Eleanore Steinhouse, Sithisone Vixayvong, Robert Wedan and Michael Ysaguirre.

Fifty-nine students qualified to be AP Scholars for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. They are Najma Abdi, Daniel Akah, Arbaz Ansar, Jaelyn Baisch, Madeline Benfer, Julie Bevolo, Megan Bormann, Emma Buchanan, Anna Cruz, Alyse Dees, Thanhminh Dinh, Jordan Discher, Macauly Donohue, Samantha Duncan, Joseph Fee, Courtney Funk, Devin Geegan, Adam Haag, Abby Harrold, Emma Harrold, Najma Hassan, Katherine Herzog, Joshua Holtzleiter, Dylan Jackson, Sarah Johnson, Laura Kotz, Sarah Kuplic, Tiana Lien, Vladimir Lind, Conner Mauck, Nawal Maxamed, Sophia Middag, Ty Miklowski, De-Mario Nelson, Isaac Nelson, Mallory Obrien, Megan Osterhaus, Patrick Otto, Chance Persons, Emily Reynolds, Garrett Riedesel, Olivia Rippentrop, Thomas Ryan, Victor Sanchez Villega, Anna Schaeffer, Brock Schultz, Caden Sillman, Mahlet Sinkie, Samantha Stadick, Heidi Stewart, Katelyn Swanson, Jackson Thellin, Liam Thomas, Ethan Tinklenberg, John Toomire, Daniel Torres, William Trussell, Jared Valois and Clifford Yeboah.  

Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 12:30