You are here

In this section

Colleges honor seven outstanding juniors at BHS

Seven high-achieving juniors will receive Junior Book Awards from prestigious colleges during a ceremony at Burnsville High School on May 24.

Colleges present the awards each year across the country to 11th grade students in recognition of their outstanding academic accomplishments, dedication to learning, leadership, school involvement and community service. Each award recipient receives a book that is connected to the college in some way, often written by a professor or alumnus. (See the slideshow of the ceremony here)

Burnsville High School students receiving Junior Book Awards this year are:

  • Arbaz Ansar - Yale University
  • Jaelyn Baisch - Dartmouth College
  • Anna Cruz - Wellesley College
  • Joshua Holtzleiter - Harvard
  • Leita Nguyen- Smith College
  • Cormac Pearce - Columbia University
  • William Trussell - University of Minnesota

"The award is a testament to everything they have done inside and outside of the classroom during their entire academic career," said Principal Dave Helke. "They have worked hard, strived to do their best and have found success in many ways. Congratulations on this recognition."

Junior Book Awards are a nationally-known distinction, according to school counselor Becky Akerson, who advises students to include it on their college applications.

Pictured from left in picture above are: William Trussell, Ana Cruz, Cormac Pearce, Leita Nguyen, Joshua Holtzleiter, Jaelyn Baisch and Arbaz Ansar.
Posted: Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 11:31