You are here

In this section

District 191 employees are awarded for excellence

Ten awards will be presented this year to individuals and groups to recognize the extraordinary contributions of staff members in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191.

“This is the third year of the One91 Community of Excellence (COE) awards which are a wonderful way to highlight amazing work being done around our district to ensure our mission of ‘Each Student. Future Ready. Community Strong’,” said Superintendent Cindy Amoroso. “I’m proud of the dedication, professionalism and commitment of our employees on a daily basis.”

Students, parents, community members and colleagues were invited to nominate employees in seven categories. A selection committee that included past recipients reviewed nominations and made selections. The award ceremony to honor COE recipients will begin at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 17, in the Mraz Center at Burnsville High School.

The Spirit of Excellence award, which goes to an individual or team that exemplifies the best of what the district seeks in its employees, was awarded this year to the Sioux Trail Elementary community. Principal Shannon McParland, staff members and parents dove into what they knew about themselves and took a critical look at where “meaningful change could be made, based on research based practices.” They came together with a vision and mission that outlined high expectations for the entire school community, identified strength in diversity, and identified that success of the community would be based on the success of all. The results have been increased student achievement along with several local and state awards.

Additional recipients of the 2018 One91 Community of Excellence Awards are:

Community Engagement:

  • Erin Huber, teacher at Harriet Bishop Elementary

Excellence in Educational Support:

  • Hamde Daoud & Eddieca Ontiveros, family cultural liaisons at Hidden Valley Elementary
  • Jolene Kump, educational assistant at Gideon Pond Elementary


  • Sharron Stalock, teacher at Sioux Trail Elementary

Leadership in Action:

  • Beth Van Osdel, Systems Improvement & Student Achievement coordinator, Diamondhead Education Center
  • Katie Salmela, district elementary media specialist and digital learning specialist, Diamondhead and elementary schools

Teaching Excellence:

  • Elizabeth Davidson, teacher at Burnsville High School
  • Suzanne Schiffman, teacher in District 191 Community Education’s Early Childhood Program, Diamondhead
  • Christine Michels, teacher at Hidden Valley Elementary School.

2018 Nominees


Posted: Friday, March 23, 2018 - 08:44