You are here

In this section

District 191 announces recipients of Community of Excellence Award

Thirty staff members have been chosen to receive One91 Community of Excellence Awards this year from Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191. The awards recognize the extraordinary contributions of staff members who empower learning, energize achievement and embrace community so students are future ready and community strong.

““These award recipients are wonderful representatives of the dedication, professionalism and caring that District 191 staff members exhibit," said Superintendent Joe Gothard.

The One91 Community of Excellence Awards Ceremony will take place on Tuesday, April 11, in the Mraz Center at Burnsville High School. The event begins with cookies and punch at 4:30 p.m. followed by the program at 5 p.m.

Excellence in Educational Support:

  • Chris Anderson, Custodian, Marion W. Savage
  • Hudayfi Barsug, Educational Assistant, Gideon Pond
  • Denise Engberg, Media Educational Assistant, Sioux Trail
  • Karen Oshiro, Educational Assistant, Harriet Bishop
  • Chuck Robasse, Custodian, Marion W. Savage
  • Jack Tillman, Educational Assistant, Vista View Elementary

Teaching Excellence:

  • Fran Blair, ESL Teacher. Eagle Ridge Middle School
  • Jenny Hugstad-Vaa, Science Teacher, Burnsville High School
  • Chris Milinovich, Social Studies Teacher, Burnsville High School
  • Heather Nemeth, Language Arts Teacher, Nicollet Middle School
  • Angie Tusa, Early Childhood Team Coordinator, Hidden Valley
  • Patty Tushie, Special Education Teacher, Sioux Trail Elementary

Collaboration and Partnership:

  • Cultural liaisons:
    • Sacdiyo Abdullahi
    • Sahro Abdullahi
    • Maricela Dale
    • Dominic Good Buffalo
    • Heidi Grant
    • Hamdi Hussein
    • Axmad Kaahiye
    • Mary Lopez
    • Abdulahi Omar
    • Mariana Quintana
    • Veronica Ramos
    • Anna-Maria Riveros
    • Maryan Ugas

Community Engagement:

  • Shelly Erickson, Work Experience Teacher, BEST transition program


  • Colleen Coleman, Social Studies Teacher, Burnsville High School

Leadership in Action:

  • Chris Bellmont, Principal, Gideon Pond Elementary
  • Kim Harrod, Math Teacher, Burnsville High School

Spirit of Excellence:

  • Glenn Simon, Director of Operations, Properties and Transportation, Districtwide

Gothard thanked the community sponsors of this event: Klein Bank, Walser Foundation, Dakota Electric, Greater Twin Cities United Way, Coldwell Banker Burnet, WSB & Associates, Firefly Credit Union, Premier Best Western, Hy-Vee Savage and Burnsville Chick-fil-A.

Posted: Friday, March 10, 2017 - 11:57