You are here

In this section

Nominations sought for 6th annual Inclusive Education Practices Award

Nominations are being sought for the 2017 Inclusive Education Practices Award to recognize outstanding school staff members whose work ensures students with disabilities have inclusive education opportunities in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191.

Award Information & Nomination Form

Af Somali

En Español

The award was created by the district's Special Education Advisory Council (SEAC), which is comprised of parents, community members, school staff and administrators. The group advises the special education department on policy and program planning.

SEAC is seeking nominations of school staff members who put the qualities and words of the District 191 Strategic Roadmap — Expectations, Respect, Integrity and Partnership — into action in support of inclusive education practices.

Individual staff members or school teams, such as a group of staff members representing a grade level, program or committee, may be nominated for the award. Nominations are due by Friday, Feb. 24.

Inclusive education is:

  • children with all abilities participating and learning together.
  • ensuring that each and every student feels welcome and that their unique needs and learning styles are attended to and valued.
  • the realization of community membership and greater opportunities for academic achievement and social involvement for all students.

Previous recipients of the award are teachers Mark Riggs of Burnsville High School, Leanne Banks of Eagle Ridge Middle School, Barbara Gierada of William Byrne Elementary, Lori Haggerty of Rahn Elementary Tiny Tots preschool, and Oluwatoni Adedeji of Sioux Trail Elementary.

For more information, contact Stephanie Corbey at To download a nomination form, visit the district's website at

Posted: Thursday, January 19, 2017 - 14:20