You are here

In this section

Burnsville High School students achieve AP recognition

A total of 76 students have achieved recognition based on their scores on rigorous Advanced Placement (AP) exams they took last spring after completing college-level courses at Burnsville High School.
The nationally-recognized AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams. These are academic distinctions that students may cite among their credentials on applications, resumes and so on.
"We are impressed and proud of the success that our students have achieved on AP exams," said Principal Dave Helke. "These students have demonstrated they are prepared to thrive at colleges and universities.”
Some of the students took the tests as seniors and have since graduated while others took the tests as sophomores and juniors and are still attending Burnsville High School. Students who earn a 3 or more on the exams (out of a possible 5) may be eligible for credits, advanced placement, or both, at the colleges and universities they will attend.
Connor Van Dorpe, class of 2017, was named a National AP Scholar -- the highest honor. He was among top students in the United States who received an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.
Sixteen students were named AP Scholars of Distinction for earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. They are Maedin Abegaz, Blake Andert, John Baradaran, Emily Bollinger, Lauren Campbell, Kit Chow, Daniel Duea, Benjamin Gregoire, Reed Miller, Abigail Rhode, Nicholas Schatz, Emily Schmid, Trang Truong, Cole Utter, Connor Van Dorpe and Erin Williams.
Eighteen students were named AP Scholars with Honor for receiving scores of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. They are Noah Bachmeier, Kyra Boaz, Kyra Bowar, Jacob Calhoon, Richard Diedrick, Danielle Fairchild, Steven Gillen, Emily Haberlack, Krista Holmstrom, Andrew Hughes, Connor Hume, Katelynn Larson, Brian Lu, Madeline Mulcahy, Madeline Strey, Elizabeth Tangney, Latavia Watson and Jaylin Wong.
Forty-one students qualified to be AP Scholars, for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams. They are Quinten Anderson, Bridget Armstrong, Matthew Baisch, Nathaniel Blichfeldt, Ryan Brunner, Emily Carlson, Samuel Carman, Kersten Decker, Luke Erdman, Bryce Evans, Mark Fitterer, Margaret Gillis, Charlotte Gude, Emma Hakanson, Haley Halvorson, Abigail Herzog, Samantha Hoanglong, Cameron Hulett, Sofiya Hutsal, Elhan Jama, Ian Johnson, Kamryn Kalal, Joshua Kenney, Cole Knutson, Phillip Kohler, Alannah Larsen, Kallie Lyon, Zachary McGovern, Bailey Medeiros, Benjamin Milhaupt, Sonali Mucherla, Samuel Pahl, Noah Robb, Spencer Robinson, Griffin Rozek, Nolan Sawchuk, Alexander Schatz, Lucas Senta, Claire Steinhouse, Colin Strey and Annemarie Wells.
Posted: Monday, October 3, 2016 - 09:09