You are here

In this section

District 191 chess teams win state championships

Teams from Metcalf Junior High in Burnsville and Harriet Bishop Elementary in Savage won state titles at the Minnesota State Scholastic Chess Championship, held March 19-20.

The Metcalf Junior High Chess Team

Despite having just two team members, the Harriet Bishop team finished as state champions in the elementary division behind individual champion Calvin York, a sixth grader at the school. Fifth grader Saketh Budideti took third place.  Also, in the elementary section, 5th grader Gavin Kellen, from Byrne, placed fourth overall.

The Metcalf team took home the junior high championship, its 29th team title in school history. The team also had several impressive individual performances. Jackson Reichert, Zander Gorton and Ben Brekke, all ninth graders, took fifth, sixth and 11th place, respectively. Eighth grader Jarett Mosoti took 13th place individually.

Other members of the Metcalf team that participated at State are Arbaz Ansar, Griffin Boos, Jacob Callenius, Tommy Faba, Anthony Friedmann, Noah Helke, Wes Ho, Mark Huttman, Kent Le-Vu, Lyla LIchliter, Andrew Madonna, Andrew Moe, Matt Nguyen, Chance Persons, Collin Ridgeway, Zach Smith, Adam Stadick, Brayden Taheri, Ross Waataja, David Wilkens and Carson Zerr.

Posted: Monday, March 21, 2016 - 20:45