You are here

In this section

District 191 among only three in state to earn financial award for 25+ years

For the 27th consecutive year, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 has received an award for financial reporting from the Association of School Business Officials (ASBO) International.

Members of the District 191 Accounting Department are, from left, Chris Robasse, Stacy Kaisershot, Renae Swanson, Nancy LaQua, Natalie Ditter, Julie Zellmer, Michele Wilson, Charlotte Leach and Gordon Winterlin. 

The Certificate of Excellence (COE) award is considered to be the gold standard and the highest recognition for school district financial reporting. It’s only given to school districts that have met or exceeded the standards of the program, according to ASBO.

Only three school districts in Minnesota have received the award for more than 25 years, and District 191 is one of them -- having earned the award for 27 consecutive years. The most recent award was for the 2014 report.

“The real work is done everyday and annually in preparation of the financial statements every summer/fall by the Accounting Department,” said Lisa Rider, executive director of business services. “We are very fortunate to have such dedicated employees.”

According to ASBO, earning the nationally-recognized award:

  • Shows your community that your district is credible and committed to fiscal integrity.
  • Helps your district achieve a better bond rating from credit evaluations by clearly disclosing all required information.
  • Demonstrates your district's transparency as you share financial information above and beyond what GAAP requires.
  • Improves your CAFR with comments from finance professionals who provide actionable feedback.

“This award recognizes our continuing effort to meet the highest standards of financial integrity,” said Superintendent Joe Gothard. “It is a prestigious accomplishment that demonstrates that we are using tax dollars wisely.”

For more details, visit

Posted: Friday, February 12, 2016 - 09:58