You are here

District 191 Board elects officers for 2016

Members of the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Board of Education unanimously elected officers to one-year terms as part of their annual organizational meeting on Jan. 14.

Dan Luth

​Abigail Alt

Board member Dan Luth was elected as chairperson while Abigail Alt was elected as vice chairperson. Jim Schmid was elected as clerk and Sandy Sweep as treasurer. Other members on the seven-person board are Dr. DeeDee Currier, Ron Hill and Bob VandenBoom.     

For the first time since 2008, Board members raised their pay from $500 a month to $550 a month. The chairperson will receive an additional $50 per month in recognition of expanded duties and responsibilities.

Board meetings will continue to take place on the second and fourth Thursdays of most months. Meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. and take place at the upper level senior campus at Diamondhead Education Center. Meetings are cablecast on Educational Channel 18 and are also streamed and archived on the district’s website at

Listening sessions take place prior to board meetings as opportunities to speak informally with board members and Superintendent Joe Gothard. Board listening sessions are scheduled from 6 to 6:30 p.m. prior to the first meeting of each month while superintendent listening sessions take place from 6 to 6:30 p.m. prior to the second meeting of each month. Anyone planning to attend a listening session is asked to call ahead of time to Jami Kenney, the superintendent’s secretary, at (952) 707-2005.

Meeting agendas, board packets and minutes are available on the district’s website at





Posted: Friday, January 15, 2016 - 13:30