You are here

In this section

M.W. Savage is among 22 Celebration Schools for 2015

Students and staff members at Marion W. Savage Elementary School in Savage have cause to celebrate! The school has been named a 2015 Celebration School by the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE).

More than 150 Celebration Eligible schools in the state of Minnesota applied for this distinction and, from those submissions, just 22 were chosen for recognition.

“Your school’s selection is a reflection of the quality application you submitted that tells the story of your efforts to improve student achievement,” said Dr. Brenda Cassellius, MDE commissioner. “I appreciate your tireless dedication to the students you serve and believe that if we work together, every Minnesota school can be excellent.”

She hopes that Celebration Schools will share effective practices with other schools across the state. By learning from one another, schools can replicate what works and close achievement gaps among students.  

Using the results of the State’s Multiple Measurements Rating (MMR) and Focus Rating (FR), Title I schools can fall into five groups. Reward Schools are the top 15 percent followed by the next 25 percent highest which are Celebration Eligible schools that can apply to be Celebration Schools.

“Congratulations to Principal Jeff Nepsund and all staff members at Marion W. Savage Elementary School,” said Superintendent Joe Gothard. “Your hard work and  dedication have resulted in this outstanding state recognition. All of us in One91 are proud of you and your students.”

Nepsund says that his teachers have effectively used data to target instruction and provide intervention or enrichment based on learning needs of students.

“As a result in math, for example, many grade levels were able to accomplish the goal of 100% of the students making academic growth and 80% of the grade level being 80% proficient or higher on several math units.” he said.

“Staff members here go above and beyond for our students and families,” Nepsund said. “This recognition verifies that what we’ve been doing is making a difference. Our focus continues to be on success for all students.”

Posted: Tuesday, December 22, 2015 - 16:26