You are here

In this section

Burnsville High School students achieve AP recognition

A total of 83 students have achieved recognition based on their scores on rigorous Advanced Placement (AP) exams they took last spring after completing college-level courses at Burnsville High School.
The nationally-recognized AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams. These are academic distinctions that students may cite among their credentials on applications, resumes and so on.
"We are impressed and proud of the success that our students have achieved on AP exams," said Principal Dave Helke. "These students have demonstrated they are prepared to thrive at colleges and universities.”
Some of the students took the tests as seniors and have since graduated while others took the tests as sophomores and juniors and are still attending Burnsville High School. Students who earn a 3 or more on the exams (out of a possible 5) may be eligible for credits, advanced placement, or both, at the colleges and universities they will attend.
Colton Van Dorpe, class of 2015, was named a National AP Scholar -- the highest honor. He was among top students in the United States who received an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.
Nineteen students were named AP Scholars of Distinction for earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. They are Sydney Botz, Selvi Bunce, Joseph Carlstrom, Maren Decker, Matthew Dorow, Amanda Fee, Gabriel Fink, Benjamin Gregoire, Paul Hoanglong, Benjamin Hubbard, Jasmine Lim, Reed Miller, Anh-Thu Pham, Jacob Tangney, Abigail Ulrich, Cole Utter, Colton Van Dorpe, Lauren Warmka and Riley Wedan.  
Twenty students were named AP Scholars with Honor for receiving scores of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. They are Maedin Abegaz, John Baradaran, Jackson Bevolo, Emily Bollinger, Samir Bushra, Lauren Campbell, Marisa Dunning, Bryce Evans, Mitchel Fischer, Rachel Floersch, Zachary Gauthier, Kayla Johnson, Kevin Kucera, Angela Le, Nicole Lynch, Amanda Schmid, Emily Schmid, Ashley St. Aubin, Emma Toomire and Aimee Whitaker.

Forty-four students qualified to be AP Scholars, for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams. They are Allison Anderson, Blake Andert, Brody Bien, Kyra Boaz, Sabrina Carper, Izaak Davison-Kerwood, William Diedrick, Carter Dupre, Colin Elwell, Danielle Fairchild, Mark Fitterer, Helen Gullikson, Emily Haberlack, Ian Harris, Elliott Hopen, Nathan Jerik, Samuel Johnson, April Kim, Anna Metzger, Benjamin Moe, Jake Moe, Tess Mueske, Madeline Mulcahy, Tessa Nania, Omwattie Nerahoo, Damon Olson, Noah Pahl, Joseph Phung, Samuel Pope, Ryan Pyle, Jennifer Reitan, Kristin Robinson, Nolan Sawchuk, Nicholas Schatz, Katherine Shealy, Katrina Smith, Rebeccah Smith, Colin Strey, Madeline Thomas, Kien Truong, Sarah Waterman, Matthew Weiss, Dakota Wickham and Nahom Yemane.
Posted: Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 12:43