You are here

In this section

Building 'Teacher of the Year' nominations being accepted

The Burnsville Education Association (BEA) is encouraging parents, students, employees and community members to nominate educators for the building Teacher of the Year awards.

Exceptional teachers at each school building in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 will be recognized, and from that group, a District 191 Teacher of the Year will be selected.

The BEA Teacher of the Year program is intended to express appreciation for and celebrate the many outstanding men and women in the teaching profession whose examples serve as inspiration to students and fellow teachers, according to Wendy Drugge Wuensch, a Burnsville High School math teacher who chairs the Teacher of the Year committee.  

Nominated teachers must have completed three full years of teaching in District 191. The BEA Teacher of the Year committee will choose from nominations based on exceptional skill and dedication, influence on students, professionalism, community involvement, and a well-articulated philosophy of teaching.

To nominate a teacher, complete the nomination form (available below) and submit it along with a one-page letter explaining how your candidate fits the selection criteria listed above. Nominations should include specific evidence of the teacher's accomplishments and roles, such as committee service, extra-curricular activities, leadership positions, and volunteering.

Completed nominations are due by Friday, April 3. They can be submitted to any school Teacher of the Year coordinator (listed on the nomination form) or sent to Drugge Wuensch at

Posted: Thursday, March 5, 2015 - 09:50