You are here

In this section

Nominations sought for 4th annual Inclusive Education Practices Award

Barbara Gierada, a teacher at William Byrne Elementary, was the 2013 Inclusive Education Practices Award winner.

Nominations are being sought for the 2014 Inclusive Education Practices Award to recognize outstanding school staff members whose work ensures students with disabilities receive an inclusive education in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191.

The award was created by the district's Special Education Advisory Council (SEAC), which is comprised of parents, community members, school staff and administrators. The group advises the special education department on policy and program planning.

SEAC is seeking nominations of school staff members who put the qualities and words of the District 191 Strategic Roadmap — Expectations, Respect, Integrity and Partnership — into action in support of inclusive education practices.

Nominations are due by Friday, Oct. 31. A winner will be announced in December.

Inclusive education is:

  • children with all abilities participating and learning together.
  • ensuring that each and every student feels welcome and that their unique needs and learning styles are attended to and valued.
  • the realization of community membership and greater opportunities for academic achievement and social involvement for all students.

Previous recipients of the award are teachers Mark Riggs of Burnsville High School, Leanne Banks of Eagle Ridge Junior High and Barbara Gierada of William Byrne Elementary.

For more information, contact Stephanie Corbey at Download the nomination form below.

Posted: Monday, October 20, 2014 - 11:09