You are here

In this section

Teachers receive Hanson Scholarships to further their education

Two teachers in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 have been selected to receive $1,000 scholarships from the Hanson Scholarship Fund to further their own education.

They are Veronica McCartney, a fourth grade at Marion W. Savage Elementary School in Savage, and Jessica Perry, a music teacher at Harriet Bishop Elementary School in Savage.

The scholarships are presented by the Hanson Scholarship Fund each year to teachers who are making a further commitment to their teaching careers by earning post-graduate degrees.

They must also have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to education and students and have served as coaches or activity advisors.

In addition to the teacher scholarships, the fund also provides numerous scholarships to graduating seniors at Burnsville High School.

Dick Hanson retired in 1994 after 33 years as an inspirational teacher and 25 years as the head football coach at Burnsville High School. After his retirement, former players and students began giving scholarships in his name to both students and teachers. The number of scholarships has grown significantly over the years because of corporate support along with contributions from hundreds of individuals as well as participation in the annual golf tournament. Additional information is available at

Posted: Friday, September 19, 2014 - 08:57