You are here

In this section

Burnsville High School students achieve AP recognition

A total of 68 students have achieved recognition based on their scores on rigorous Advanced Placement (AP) exams they took last spring after completing college-level courses at Burnsville High School.

The nationally-recognized AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams. These are academic distinctions that students may cite among their credentials on applications, resumes and so on.

"We are impressed and proud of the success that our students have achieved on AP exams," said Principal Dave Helke. "These students have demonstrated they are prepared to thrive at colleges and universities.”

Some of the students took the tests as seniors and have since graduated while others took the tests as sophomores and juniors and are still attending Burnsville High School. Students who earn a 3 or more on the exams (out of a possible 5) may be eligible for credits, advanced placement, or both, at the colleges and universities they will attend.

Molly Calhoon, class of 2014, and Colton Van Dorpe, a current senior, were named as National AP Scholars -- the highest honor. They were among top students in the United States who received an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Twelve students were named an AP Scholars of Distinction for earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. They are Sydney Botz, Molly Calhoon, Taylor Ewing, Ross Fuller, Mariah Havlicek, Maxwell Johnson, Christopher Larsson, Samuel Porter, Bonssa Teizazu, Colton Van Dorpe, Amber Wetzel and Dakota Wickham. 

Twenty-four students were named AP Scholars with Honor for receiving scores of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. They are Selvi Bunce, Katie Carlson, Matthew Dorow, Amanda Fee, Evan Fuller, Sara Funkhouser, Daniel Gillis, Samantha Gray, Nicholas Hall, Kristyna Hughes, Kevin Kucera, Linda Lien, Jasmine Lim, Natalie Neisen, Anh-Thu Pham, Alex Shackleton, Adam Sink, Jacob Tangney, Abigail Ulrich, John Walker, Lauren Warmka, Riley Wedan, Courtney Wolfe and Ralston Yiu.

Thirty-two students qualified to be AP Scholars, for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams. They are Jenna Allen, Samir Bushra, Connor Bye, Joseph Carlstrom, Elijah Clements, Marissa Dunning, Samuel Eckstrom, Anna Fritchman, Marie Heim, Grant Hopkins, Lauren Johnson, Samuel Johnson, Brandon Kaas, Nicole Lynch, Alexander Mason, Ella McClarnon, Jordan Medeiros, Tess Mueske, Timothy Oliver, Madeline Orr, Erin Russell, Katrina Smith, Sarah Somar, Ashley Swanson, Madeline Thomas, Logan Trachsel, Kien Truong, Julia VandenBoom, Louie Chelle Villamor, Evan Wenzinger, Claire Williams and Daniel Yousufzai. 

Posted: Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 08:34