Skip To Main Content

Curriculum & Instruction Development

Curriculum development occurs in six phases: review, establishing core curriculum, instructional materials recommendation, piloting, implementation and professional development, and continuous improvement. Phases 1–3 require 1-2 years to complete. The pilot phase takes place during one full school year. Most curricular areas will require 2-3 years to reach full implementation. Curriculum Areas who have completed phases 1-5, will move into continuous improvement.

Phase 1: Review of Current Program

  • Establish expectations
  • Feedback on Curriculum, Instruction & Assessment
  • Review of Literature & Best Practice Research
  • Analyze data

Phase 2: Establishing Core Curriculum

  • Identify Grade Level Guarantees
  • Unpack the Standards
  • Define Proficiency Rubrics 
  • Common Benchmark Assessments

Phase 3: Instructional Materials Review &

  • Recommendation
  • Create Materials Rubric
  • Gather instructional Resources
  • Deep Review
  • Recommend

Phase 4: Implementation Pilot

  • Implementation Pilot
  • Alignment 
  • Pacing
  • Implementation Guide

Phase 5: Implementation & Professional Development

  • Installation
  • Early Implementation
  • Full Implementation

Phase 6: Continuous Improvement 

  • Monitoring of curriculum implementation with Look Fors
  • Application of Data analysis to determine if/when curriculum modifications may be needed.
  • Need or alignment with CPSS Curriculum & Inst Rubric