GTranslate

In this section

School Counseling Department

Reprinted with permission, American School Counselor Association. The Guidance and Counseling Staff at Burnsville Senior High School provides developmental, as well as pro-active, preventative and remedial services for students. This involves a cooperative effort among students, staff members, parents and the community. Their purpose is to empower all learners to lead satisfying and productive lives by assisting them in identifying and achieving educational, career, personal and social goals. We are here to help by working with academic issues, educational and career planning, as well as personal concerns.

The Role of the School Counselor

 *   School counselors are actively committed to helping students explore their abilities, strengths, interests and talents as these traits relate to career awareness and development.
 *   School counselors help parents focus on ways to further the education, personal and social growth of students.
 *   School counselors work with teachers and other educators to help students explore their potential and set realistic goals for themselves.
 *   School counselors seek to identify and utilize community resources that can enhance and compliment comprehensive school counseling programs and help students become productive members of society.
 *   Comprehensive school counseling programs are considered an integral part of the educational process that enables all students to achieve success in school.

Do we make a difference? Absolutely!

Use the links on the left-hand side of the page to navigate through the counseling website. Below you will find the contact information for the counseling office staff. To schedule an appointment with a counselor or for general questions, please call 952-707-2108.


SCHOOL COUNSELING STAFF

David Shuman  -  ​A-CARL   ·  952-707-2147  ·  dshuman@isd191.org 

Rebecca Akerson  -  CARM-GEL  ·  952-707-2144  ·  RAkerson@isd191.org

Ashley Welke  -  GEM-KEP  ·  952-707-2146​  ·  AWelke@isd191.org 

Sara Craig  -  KEQ-MIN  ·  952-707-2112  ·  SCraig@isd191.org

Veronica Marshall  - MIO-REM  ·  952-707-2145​  ·  VMarshall@isd191.org

Angela Markham - REN-SN  ·  952-707-2334   ·  amarkham@isd191.org

Jeff Limke  -  SO-Z  ·  952-707-2148​  ·  JLimke@isd191.org  ·  AP Testing  


SUPPORT STAFF

Deb Scherer  ·  Guidance Secretary  ·  952-707-2108  ·  DScherer@isd191.org

Marcia Sexton  ·  952-707-2339  ·  MSexton@isd191.org  ·  Career Center Coordinator    

Veronica Ramos   ·  952-707-2143  ·  VRamos@isd191.org  ·  Cultural Liaison 

Abdulahi Omar  ·  962-707-2110  ·  Anomar@isd191.org  ·  Cultural Liaison

Pam Reiher​  ·  952-707-2138  ·  PReiher@isd191.org  ·  Registrar


SUPPORT SERVICES


ACADEMIC SUPPORT