You are here

In this section

MCA Tests

The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment (MCAs) and alternate assessments (Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)) are the state tests that help districts measure student progress toward Minnesota's academic standards and also meet the requirements of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). Students take one test in each subject. Most students take the MCA, but students who receive special education services and meet eligibility requirements may take one of the alternate assessments instead. The list below gives the tests given for each subject, with grades given in parentheses behind each test.

Reading:  MCA (grades 3-8, 10) or  MTAS (grades 3-8, 10)
Mathematics:  MCA (grades 3-8, 11) or MTAS (grades 3-8, 11)
Science:  MCA or MTAS (grades 5, 8 and high school)

Resources for Parents
Test Preparation Suggestions for Parents and Teachers  
Suggestions on ways to help students get ready for Minnesota assessments. General tips and strategies are included, as well as suggestions for individual tests. 

Test Item Samplers
Parents can access online and print test samplers for MCA and other state tests.