You are here

In this section

Burnsville High School students achieve AP recognition

A total of 82 students have achieved recognition based on their scores on rigorous Advanced Placement (AP) exams they took last spring after completing college-level courses at Burnsville High School.

The nationally-recognized AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams. These are academic distinctions that students may cite among their credentials on applications, resumes and so on.

"We are impressed and proud of the success that our students have achieved on AP exams," said Principal Dave Helke. "These students have demonstrated they are prepared to thrive at colleges and universities.”

Some of the students took the tests as seniors and have since graduated while others took the tests as sophomores and juniors and are still attending Burnsville High School. Students who earn a 3 or more on the exams (out of a possible 5) may be eligible for credits, advanced placement, or both, at the colleges and universities they will attend.

Four of the students achieved the highest honor being named as National AP Scholars for receiving an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. They were current senior Albert Liu and recent graduates Blake Andert, Abigail Rhode and Connor Van Dorpe.

Twenty-two students were named AP Scholars of Distinction for earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. They are Blake Andert, Noah Bachmeier, Samuel Carman, Chun Kit Chow, Matthew Fischer, Luke Haddorff, Emma Hakanson, Abigail Herzog, Andrew Hughes, Gregory Johnson, Ian Johnson, Megan Kortenhof, Albert Liu, Kirstyn Loyva, Brian Lu, Abigail Rhode, Nicholas Schatz, Madeline Strey, Trang Truong, Conner Van Dorpe, Latavia Watson and Erin Williams.

Eighteen students were named AP Scholars with Honor for receiving scores of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. They are Eyerusalem Abebaw, Wyatt Andrews, Lauren Borchart, Ryan Brunner, Haley Halvorson, Justin Jasperse, Joshua Kenney, Alex Larson, Katie Lyon, Alexander Mountain, Chloe Penkert, Garrett Riedesel, Samantha Simonsen, Daniel Torres, Anna Warmka, Rachel Waterman, Annemarie Wells and Jaylin Wong.

Forty-two students qualified to be AP Scholars, for receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. They are Erin Bachmeier, Matusola Bein, Brian Bowen, Kristine Brinkman, Emma Buchanan, Jacob Calhoon, Richard Diedrick, Thanhminh Dihn, Macauly Donohue, Allie Draper, Samantha Duncan, Christopher Gargano, Devin Geegan, Alexander Gude, Blake Hanegraaf, Marguerite Hennessy, Dylan Jackson, Kamryn Kalal, Chrisostom Maina, Marissa Marsolek, Elizabeth McCormick, Zachary McGovern, Bailey Medeiros, Ty Miklowski, Benjamin Milhaupt, Morgan Muelken, Samuel Nelson, Jacob Nistler, Mallory O'Brien, Kara Odom, Bailey Pekar, Andrew Peterson, Victor Sanchez Villega, Paige Schultz, Lucas Senta, Nikolas Slemp, Henry Smalstig, Kelly Solberg, Robin Stauffer, John Toomire, Grace Ulrich and Robert Wedan.

Posted: Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 11:42