You are here

In this section

Six individuals and a chess team will join BHS Hall of Fame

BHS hall of fame torch

Burnsville High School will be inducting six individuals and the 2001-02 Chess Team into its Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 13 at the school’s Mraz Center for Performing Arts. A reception will take place starting at 4:30 p.m. followed by the formal induction ceremony at 5:30 p.m. that is free and open to the public. Inductees will also be recognized at halftime at that evening’s home football game.

They will join 84 individuals, teams and organizations that have been inducted since the Hall of Fame was created in honor of the school’s 50th anniversary in 2006.

“The Hall of Fame honors graduates, staff members, teams and community members or organizations who have made exceptional achievements in their fields, significant contributions to BHS or unique contributions to their community on a local, state, national or international level,” according to Vicki Roy, chairperson of the Hall of Fame committee. “They serve as positive role models for our students and let them see what opportunities they may have and what they may achieve in their futures.”

Inductees in 2017 are:

Joe Bueltel, class of 1979, graduated with honors from Normandale Community College and received his bachelor of arts degree in psychology from the University of Minnesota. He received his juris doctor degree with honors from William Mitchell School of Law where he wrote for the Law Review. Bueltel won the Don’t Tread on Me Award in 1993 and the Clarence Earl Gideon Outstanding Service Award in 1996. He held many positions and served on several task forces, becoming chief public defender for the Third Judicial District from 1999-2002. He was appointed Minnesota State District Court Judge for the Third Judicial District in 2002 and elected to that position in 2004, 2010 and 2016. He currently serves as assistant chief justice, as well as Steele Waseca Drug Court Lead Judge and Steele County Truancy Court Lead Judge. Bueltel is a member of the Steele County Habitat for Humanity Board and has coached in the high school mock trial program.

Jennifer Hall, class of 1986, graduated ninth in her BHS class and excelled in sports, winning the 1986 Athena Award as captain of three sports and winner of eight letters. She was named all-conference and all-region in both soccer and softball. The 1986 Minnesota Gatorade Girls Basketball Player of the Year and 1986 Metro Player of the Year, she was the leading scorer at the 1986 Minnesota state tournament. She also earned all-state and conference leading scorer honors twice and was the first 1,000-point scorer for Burnsville. At the University of Minnesota, she played in every basketball game her freshman and sophomore years and started every game her junior and senior years. The 1990 team captain was named team Most Valuable Player twice and was named an All Big Ten player twice. Hall was recognized with the 1994 South Suburban Conference Achievement Award - Athletics for outstanding accomplishments in high school and beyond. She teaches social studies at Armstrong High School in the Robbinsdale school district.

Greg Holker, class of 1996, was a member of the National Honor Society and served as vice president of the BHS Student Council. A member of the boys’ soccer team from 1993 to 1995, he earned 1995 All-State Honorable Mention honors and was named to the 1995 Star Tribune All Metro Team and the 1995 All-Conference Team. He continued his soccer career at Gustavus Adolphus College where he was a 4 year starter, serving as captain in 1999 and earning NSCAA All-Region and All-MIAC honors. He earned his degree in English and was a member of Sigma Tau Delta International Honor Society. Since 2004, he has served as Head Men’s Soccer Coach at Augsburg College where he holds the honor of being the winningest coach in team history and has been recognized twice as the MIAC Coach of the Year. He also serves as the Burnsville Soccer Club director of coaching.

Kerry Kraemer, class of 2007, was a member of the National Honor Society and swam on the girls’ varsity swim team for five years. She was the first swimmer in Minnesota history to win five consecutive individual state titles (100 breaststroke). She broke the all-time Minnesota AA record in the 100 breaststroke and was a 16 time All-American, winning 10 state titles during her high school career. Attending Stanford University on a swimming scholarship, Kraemer earned her degree in international relations with a 3.7 grade point average. Her college swimming career earned her NCAA Division 1 All-America honors twice and Pac-12 All-Academic First Team honors three times. She finished in the top eight at the 2009 U.S. National Championships in the 100 breaststroke. Co-founder and president of Friends of TASAAGA, an organization supporting vulnerable women and children in rural Uganda, Kramer was selected a Herbert Scoville Jr. Peace Fellow in 2013 and a Security Fellow with the Truman National Security Project in 2017.

Renata (Heupel) Mayrhofer, class of 1977, was a member of the National Honor Society and served on the BHS Yearbook staff. After graduating from the University of Minnesota in 1982, she earned her masters degree in business administration from Boston College in 1985. Commissioned an officer in the U.S. Army in 1980, she served with the 66th Military Intelligence Brigade in Germany from 1983-1988. From 1985-1991, she was the chief negotiator for international loans for Commerzbank Germany. As a Professor of Business Management at the University of Phoenix, she was recognized as the Distinguished Faculty Member of the Year for 2003-2004. She is currently department chair and professor of business management at Concordia University. Mayrhofer is a founding member and board member of the Saving Grace Village, coordinates the Angel Tree Christmas initiative for children of incarcerated adults and serves as president of the Urban Cross Cultural College Consortium.

Douglas Wendland, class of 1969, was a National Honor Society member and winner of the Barry Mott Memorial Scholarship. He participated in cross country and track at BHS. He earned his bachelors and medical doctor degrees at the University of Wisconsin where he was a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society. Wendland started and serves as chief of the Family Medicine Department at Mt. Sinai Medical Center. He helped design and implement response to the 2009 influenza pandemic while serving as medical director of occupational medicine and employee health for St. Luke’s Health System serving Northwestern Wisconsin and Northeastern Minnesota. He served as the World Health Organization’s national coordinator for occupational health and safety for Sierra Leone during the 2014-2015 ebola outbreak and won the 2016 50 Over 50 award from the Minnesota AARP for that response work.

2001-2002 Chess Team was the 2001 National K-12 Champions, Grade 12, with four individuals placing in the top 25. They won the 2002 Minnesota State High School Championship with seven team members placing in the top 21 and placed 11th in the 2002 National High School Championship with four players placing in the top 200. Grady Cantrell and Brett Larsen were crowned the 2002 National Double Bughouse Champions. Members of the team, coached by Eduard Zelkind, were Caleb Bousu, Grady Cantrell, Jesse Fredeen, Kyle Geiken, Matthew Kleman, Phil Koistra, Landon Larch, Brett Larsen, Rachel Larsen, Nick Naegeli, Garrick Nelsen, Nick Pechman, Mark Rupp, Bobby Steffen and Chi Tran.

Posted: Monday, September 25, 2017 - 10:30