You are here

In this section

Six volunteers selected to receive 2017 Coskran Award

Six extraordinary volunteers were honored with the 2017 John Coskran Volunteer Awards in a ceremony in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 on May 11.

"We thank these exceptional volunteers for the positive difference they make in our schools, programs and across the district," said Superintendent Joe Gothard. "Their dedication and support is extraordinary as they volunteer their time and talents to prepare our students to be future ready and to make our community strong."   

Recipients of the 2017 John Coskran Volunteer Award are:


  • Shrey Pothini, a student at Eagle Ridge Middle School who has been an active volunteer and promoted volunteerism since he was a third grader.
  • Derik Piña Flores, a senior at Burnsville High School who has volunteered in numerous ways.


  • Seema Pothini, who is a volunteer herself and also supports the volunteerism of her son, Shrey, and other students.
  • Brian Strayer, an active volunteer at Harriet Bishop Elementary and Eagle Ridge Middle School.


  • Craig Huber who volunteers in the robotics program at Burnsville High School and the district's three middle schools.


  • Kelly Knott, the art teacher at Marion W. Savage and Edward Neill Elementary Schools, who has been an active volunteer and supporter of events that benefit students and community.

This is the 16th year of the awards which are named in honor of John Coskran, a long-time advocate for volunteerism who served 34 years at Catholic Charities and retired as associate director in 1993. Mr. Coskran, who also served as a member of the District 191 Board of Education, died in 2014. 

Read more about this year's Coskran Award Winners

Posted: Friday, April 28, 2017 - 11:00