You are here

In this section

Hidden Valley teacher is District 191 Teacher of the Year

Jennifer Bohr, left, is the 2015 District 191 Teacher of the Year.

Jennifer Bohr, a sixth grade teacher at Hidden Valley Elementary School in Savage, was named as the 2015 Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 Teacher of the Year in the annual recognition organized by the Burnsville Education Association on May 20.

Bohr was first named as the 2015 Building of the Teacher at Hidden Valley where she has taught since 2012. She led Responsive Classroom training sessions for Hidden Valley staff after school, coordinated the district spelling bee and coordinated quarterly Meet and Confer meetings with teachers, administrators and school board members.

She taught at Sky Oaks Elementary School in Burnsville for 20 years in 4th, 5th and 6th grades. Other roles included resource teacher, testing and assessment coordinator, enrichment teacher and Title I teacher. She served as advisor for Student Council and Math Masters, and coordinated the school’s geography bee.

“The greatest characteristic that separates Mrs. Bohr from other educators is that she is always figuring out a way to better her teaching practice,” wrote Abby Ertyl, a colleague of Bohr’s at Hidden Valley. “She is consistently reflecting on what she can do differently to improve student performance and always considering what she might change to reach more students. Nothing is routine for Jennifer. Even after 23 years of teaching, she is still looking for new and exciting ways to engage students and make learning a priority.”

Bohr says it’s important that she gets to know her students. “By working hard to build relationships with students, I help them invest in their education and find joy in learning,” she said. “When I see kids working hard and wanting to be successful, I feel I have done my job well.”

She feels good when students thank her for teaching them or stop back to visit and share how something she did has helped them to be successful in school.

She also gets to know their families. “It is important to me that parents know I am supportive of them and their child,” she explains.

Bohr has also filled many leadership roles in Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 in the areas of professional development and curriculum development.  

She will next be considered as the 2016 Minnesota Teacher of the Year sponsored by Education Minnesota.

2015 Building Teachers of the Year are (front row, from left) Angie Preston of M.W. Savage Elementary, Greta Krupke of William Byrne Elementary, Vicki Spieler of Early Childhood Family Education, Bobbie Kunkel of Sioux Trail Elementary, Laurel Mirs of Gideon Pond Elementary, Matt Berg of Sky Oaks Elementary, Jennifer Bohr of Hidden Valley Elementary, (middle row, from left) Kimberly Wood of Vista View Elementary, Rachel Lucius of Rahn Elementary, Sue Woodcock of Early Childhood Special Education, Nate Strand of Burnsville High School, Kevin Silberman of Nicollet Junior High, (back row, from left) Emily Mechavich of Harriet Bishop Elementary, Bobby Griffiths of Metcalf Junior High, Teacher on Special Assignment Nancy Meyer, Patty Herkenhoff of Edward Neill Elementary, Jeff Hammer of Eagle Ridge Junior High, and Tony McNeil of Burnsville Alternative High School.
Posted: Friday, May 22, 2015 - 12:36